58234

A large modern sterling silver Tall Tapered Vase

A large sterling silver Tall Tapered Vase
Birmingham 2014 by Esther Lord

The convexly shaped body matt brushed to all sides and standing on a triangular base with an upper edge sloped to one side. The upper rim oval shaped in cross-section. The front area protrudes diagonally above the rear part.
An exceptional vase of a brilliant elegance and with sculptural effect by one of the most important representatives of the modern British avant-garde.

Esther Lord’s works testify her pronounced feeling for the play of volume and balance as well as light and shadow and are each unique works of art in their own right.
They combine the aspects of sculpture and utility object in one and let the silver appear partly as harmoniously flowing, partly as vector-like striving upwards. Each of her pieces is also a haptic pleasure and is of a silky fineness in the surface. She is one of the few English silversmiths to have been awarded the Bavarian State Prize and numerous other prizes from the Goldsmiths Company, the Arts Council and the British Jewellers Association.
Her works can be found in the modern silver collection of the Goldsmiths Company as well as in the design museum Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (Staatliches Museum für angewandte Kunst), Munich.

8.5 cm / 3.34″ width, 6.0 cm / 2.36″ depth, 32.5 cm / 12.79″ tall; 533.6 g / 18.82 oz

Any other decoration is shown for illustrational purposes only and does not form part of the offer.

58234

Sehr große moderne Vase

Sehr große moderne Vase,
Sterling Silber, Birmingham 2014,
MZ: Esther Lord

Auf dreieckiger Basis stehender, gewölbter Korpus mit einseitig geschrägten und im Querschnitt ovalen Oberrand. Der vordere Bereich der allseitig matt gebürsteten Wandung oberseitig über den hinteren Teil schräg hervortretend.
Außergewöhnliche Vase von hoher Eleganz und skulpturartiger Wirkung von einer der wichtigsten Vertreterinnen der modernen britischen Avantgarde.

Esther Lords Werke zeugen von ihrem hohen Gefühl für das Spiel von Volumen und Balance sowie Licht und Schatten und sind jedes für sich Kunstwerke mit Unikatcharakter.
Sie vereinen die Aspekte Skulptur und Gebrauchsobjekt in einem und lassen das Silber teils wie harmonisch dahinfließend erscheinen, teils förmlich vektorenhaft in die Höhe streben. Jedes ihrer Stücke ist auch ein haptisches Vergnügen und ist von einer seidigen Feinheit in der Oberfläche. Sie wurde aufgrund ihrer Werke als eine der wenigen englischen Silberschmiede unter anderem mit dem Bayrischen Staatspreis ausgezeichnet sowie mit zahlreichen weiteren Preisen der Goldsmiths Company, des Arts Council sowie der British Jewellers Association.
Ihre Werke befinden sich unter anderem in der Sammlung für Modernes Silber der Goldsmiths Company sowie im Designmuseum Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (Staatliches Museum für angewandte Kunst), München.

Höhe: 32,5 cm, Breite: 8,5 cm, Tiefe: 6 cm; 533,6 g

Das Angebot bezieht sich auf die Vase, anderweitig abgebildete Dekoration dient allein zur Verdeutlichung der Größenverhältnisse.