58348

A rare Georg Jensen sterling silver large cake server in “Pyramid” pattern

Kuchenheber Pyramide Pyramid Sterling Silber Georg Jensen Silberwaren Besteck

A large sterling silver cake server in “Pyramid” pattern
Copenhagen circa 1950 by Georg Jensen

A rare sterling silver cake server in “Pyramid” pattern, designed by Harald Nielsen, 1926. Executed by Georg Jensen silversmithy post 1945.
This cake server is the rare large version with pointed oval and slightly curved front part which is discontinued since many years. Excellent condition without monogram or other kind of personal engraving, perfectly polished so as new.
An overview of our other sterling silver cutlery pieces in “Pyramid” pattern can be found here.
Please click here to see our range of silver items by Georg Jensen.

The “Pyramid” cutlery was designed in 1926 by Georg Jensen´s brother in law Harad Nielsen and is still a modern classic among Art Deco silver cutleries. While the cutlery was first produced in 830 grade silver, it gained increasing international popularity as silverware for the haute volee in the beginning 1930ies and was therefore produced exclusively in sterling silver from around 1930. The demand of silverware in “Pyramid” is still unbroken today and the pattern is one of the most sought-after Georg Jensen silver cutleries.
In the first decades, the “Pyramid” silver cutlery had a large number of serving pieces as well as a wider selection of core cutlery, but production of different types was gradually discontinued after the Second World War. This also includes the large cake server offered here. The “Pyramid” pattern cutlery is still produced by Georg Jensen today in sterling silver to a significantly reduced number in variety and also in stainless steel, although no longer in Denmark.

24.9 cm / 9.8″ length

Kuchenheber „Pyramide“, Sterling Silber, Georg Jensen

Georg Jensen Pyramide Kuchenheber Pyramid Silber Besteck Silberbesteck silberwaren

Artikelnummer: 58348

Kuchenheber „Pyramide“,
Sterling Silber, Kopenhagen nach 1945,
HZ: Georg Jensen

Sterling Silber Kuchenheber bzw. Tortenheber „Pyramide“, Entwurf: Harald Nielsen, 1926. Ausführung: Georg Jensen Silberschmiede um 1950.
Mit spitzovaler und in sich leicht gewölbter Laffe. Hervorragender Zustand ohne Monogramm oder sonstige Inschriften und professionell feinpoliert. Der vorliegende Kuchenheber ist die seltene große Variante mit ovaler Laffe, welche heute nicht mehr hergestellt wird.
Eine Übersicht über unser Angebot an Silberbesteck in „Pyramide“ finden Sie hier.
Hier gelangen Sie zu unserer Gesamtübersicht an Silber von Georg Jensen.

Das Besteck „Pyramide“ (im englischsprachigen Bereich auch als „Pyramid“ bekannt) wurde 1926 von Harald Nielsen, dem Schwager von Georg Jensen, entworfen und ist unter den Silber Bestecken des Art Déco ein auch heute noch moderner Klassiker. Wurde das Besteck in den ersten Jahren noch in 830er Silber hergestellt, erlangte es in den frühen 1930er Jahren eine zunehmende internationale Beliebtheit als Tafelsilber für die Hautevolee und wurde daher seit etwa 1930 ausschließlich in Sterling Silber hergestellt. Die Beliebheit von Silberwaren in „Pyramide“ ist auch heute noch ungebrochen und das Dekor eines der am meisten gesuchten Bestecke von Georg Jensen überhaupt.
Das Silberbesteck hatte in den ersten Jahrzehnten eine Vielzahl an Vorlegeteilen sowie eine breitere Auswahl des Kernbestecks deren Herstellung nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg allerdings sukzessive eingestellt wurde. Hierzu gehört auch der hier angebotene Kuchen- bzw. Tortenheber. Das Besteck „Pyramide“ wird von Georg Jensen zwar heute noch in deutlich reduziertem Umfang in Sterling Silber und inzwischen auch in Edelstahl hergestellt, wenngleich auch nicht mehr in Dänemark.

Länge: 24,9 cm