58259

A good large George IV sterling silver tray

A good large George IV sterling silver tray
London 1820 by J. E. Terrey

Rectangular shaped, the rim decorated with slanted ribs and finished on the narrow sides by two handles with floral vines, similar ribs and central shell decoration. The smooth plate is decorated with an engraved coat of arms surrounded by a gathered ermine coat and shows two family crests in the form of an eagle sitting on a gloved hand and a breast picture of a panther holding a palm branch, as well as the motto “INEBRANLABLE” on the underside.
A high quality, remarkably heavily worked and large tray in authentic condition. As there was no possibility of acquiring pre-fabricated plates at this time, the tray required a high degree of good craftsmanship by the silversmith. Noteworthy that the mirror is very flat despite its size. The high manufacturing quality is also reflected by the solid execution of the handles and the edge.
The tray was a gift on the occasion of the marriage between Sir John Palmer-Acland, the first Baron of Fairfield, in Somerset County (born 11 February 1756, died 23 February 1831) and his second wife, Sarah Maria Gibbes, née Knipe (born 1753, died 19 September 1853). John and Mary were married on 5th November 1818 at St Mary’s Parish Church, Walcot in Somerset County. A heraldic identification report including a picture of the entry in the register of the Parish Church of St Mary will be attached.

63.2 cm / 24.88″ length (between the handles), 42.5 cm / 16.73″ width; ca. 4.25 kg / 149.91 oz (!)

Any other decoration is shown for illustrational purposes only and does not form part of the offer.

58259

Großes George IV Tablett

George IV Tablett,
Sterling Silber, London 1820,
MZ: J. E. Terrey

Quaderförmiges Tablett, der Rand von geschrägter Rippenprofilierung geziert und schmalseitig von zwei Griffen mit floralem Rankenwerk, analoger Profilierung und mittigem Muscheldekor abgeschlossen. Der glatte Spiegel von graviertem Wappen geziert welches von einem gerafftem Hermelinmantel umgeben wird und oberseitig zwei Family Crests in Form eines auf einer behandschuhten Hand sitzenden Adlers und dem Brustbilds eines Löwen der einen Palmzweig hält, zeigt sowie dem unterseitigen Motto „INEBRANLABLE“ („UNERSCHÜTTERLICH“).
Äußerst hochwertiges, auffallend schwer gearbeitetes und großes Tablett in authentischer Erhaltung. Da es zur Entstehungszeit dieses Objekts nicht die Möglichkeit des Erwerbs vorgefertigter Platten gab, forderte das Tablett bei seiner Herstellung dem ausführenden Silberschmied einen hohen Grad an handwerklichem Geschick ab. Auffallend ist daher, dass der Spiegel trotz seiner Größe sehr eben ist. Die hohe Fertigungsqualität zeigt sich nicht zuletzt auch in der massiven Ausführung der Griffe und des Randes.
Das Tablett war ein Geschenk anlässlich der Eheschließung zwischen Sir John Palmer-Acland, dem ersten Baron von Fairfield, in der Grafschaft Somerset (geb. 11. Februar 1756, gest. am 23. Februar 1831) und seiner zweiten Frau, Sarah Maria Gibbes, geb. Knipe (geb. 1753, gest. 19. September 1853). John und Maria wurden am 5. November 1818 in der Pfarrkirche St. Mary, Walcot in der Grafschaft Somerset getraut. Eine genealogische Wappenanalyse inclusive einer Abbildung des Kirchenbucheintrags liegt vor.

Länge (Griff zu Griff): 63,2 cm, Breite: 42,5 cm; ca. 4,25 kg (!)

Das Angebot bezieht sich auf das Tablett, anderweitig abgebildete Dekoration dient allein zur Verdeutlichung der Größenverhältnisse.