58352

A rare 950 silver Aesthetic Movement coffee pot

Aesthetic Movement sterling silver teapot Art & Crafts silverware sterling silver

A rare 950 silver Aesthetic Movement coffee pot
Paris circa 1880 by Elvire Queillé

The subtly rounded and smooth body standing on a flat base with a bamboo rim, the front and back of the body decorated with crossed bamboo branches, the top terminated with a corresponding lid with bamboo leaf decoration and a branch segment as a knob. The silver handle on the back made in the shape of a naturalistic bamboo branch which divides into two smaller branches to the upper sockets and being connected to the body heat stoppers made of bone. The spout, like the handle, is also formed as a bamboo branch.
An overview of our other Art Nouveau and Arts & Crafts silverware can be found here.

Exceptional Art Nouveau coffee pot in 950 silver in the rare Aesthetic Style that was en vogue for a short time during the Art Nouveau.
The affinity of Art Nouveau to Japanese art was based in particular on the designs of British artists of the Aesthetic Movement as well as on the silverware of Tiffany, whose works in silver and mixed metal (silver combined with bronze or brass) enhanced interest in Japanese art from 1875 onwards. In contrast to German Art Nouveau, there was a great interest in Japanese stylistic tendencies in France and the French-speaking countries during the Art Nouveau era, which was also due to the distribution of Japanese prints that became widespread in Europe through the trade from 1860 onwards.
Elvire Queillé (1834-1896) can be traced as a silversmith from 1874 to 1895 and came from an old and highly respected silversmithing dynasty founded 1808 by the spoonmaker Pierre-François Queillé I in the Marais district of Paris. In honour of the founder, the silversmithy has kept his maker´s mark for the whole time. The silversmithy was exclusively family-owned until 1895, when a part of the workshop was acquired by the renowned silversmith Henry Laparra. The other part of the workshop remained in the hands of Emile Queillé until he died in 1955.

19.1 cm / 7.51″ length, circa 13.8 cm / 5.43″ diameter, circa 26.4 cm / 10.39″ tall; 940.8 g / 33.18 oz

58352

Seltene Art Nouveau 950er Silber Kaffeekanne

Aesthetic Movement sterling silver teapot Art & Crafts silverware sterling silver

Seltene Art Nouveau Kaffeekanne,
950er Silber, Paris um 1880,
MZ: Elvire Queillé

Im Querschnitt kreisförmiger, im unteren Drittel dezent gerundeter Korpus auf glattem Tellerfuß mit Bambusrand stehend, die glatte Wandung an den Schauseiten von gekreuzten Bambusästen geziert und oberseitig über die langgezogene Schulter von entsprechendem Deckel mit Bambusblätterwerk und Astsegment als Deckelknauf abgeschlossen. Die rückseitige Handhabe aus Silber in Form eines naturalistischen Bambusastes gehalten, welcher über Isolatoren aus Bein mit dem Korpus verbunden ist und sich oberseitig in zwei dünnere Äste aufteilt. Die Schnaupe in Analogie zum Griff ebenfalls als Bambusast gehalten.

Eine Übersicht über unsere Jugendstil-Objekte in Silber finden hier.

Außergewöhnliche und schwer gearbeitete Kaffeekanne des Art Nouveau in 950er Silber in dem für die Zeit en vogue gewesenen japanischen Stil.
Die Affinität des Art Nouveau zur japanischen Kunst fußte insbesondere auch auf den Entwürfen britischer Künster des Aesthetic Movements sowie auf den ab 1875 vorgestellten Silberwaren von Tiffany deren Arbeiten in Silber und dem sog. mixed metal (Silber kombiniert mit Bronze oder Messing) das Interesse an der japanischen Kunst förderte. Im Gegensatz zum deutschen Jugendstil war in Frankreich und den französischsprachigen Ländern während des Art Nouveau ein großes Interesse an japanischen Stiltendenzen zu verzeichnen, das auch auf die Verbreitung japanischer Drucke zurückzuführen war die ab 1860 durch den Handel in Europa Verbreitung fanden.
Elvire Queillé (1834-1896) ist als Silberschmied 1874 bis 1895 nachweisbar und stammte aus einer alten, angesehenen Silberschmiededynastie, die von dem auf Besteck spezialisierten Silberschmied Pierre-François Queillé I 1808 im Pariser Stadtteil Marais gegründet wurde. Zu Ehren des Gründers hatte die Silberschmiede ihr Meisterzeichen bis zuletzt beibehalten. Die Silberschmiede befand sich bis 1895 rein in Familienbesitz, bis ein Anteil der Werkstatt durch die renommierte Silberschiede von Henry Laparra erworben wurde. Der andere Teil der Werkstatt blieb in der Hand Emile Queillés bis dieser 1955 verstarb.

Länge: 19,1 cm, Breite: ca. 13,8 cm, Höhe: ca. 26,4 cm; 940,8 g