“Pyramid” pattern silver fruit cutlery 1931 by Georg Jensen

Item number: 58056

An extremly rare silver fruit cutlery in “Pyramid” pattern,
Copenhagen 1931 by Georg Jensen

A fruit cutlery for six persons in “Pyramid” pattern, designed by Harald Nielsen, 1926. Executed by Georg Jensen silversmithy 1931. Professionally polished and in excellent condition. No monograms or removals.
As a set for six persons from the early era of this design this set is of an additional rarity and hard to find. The prongs of the forks and the blades of the knives are made in solid silver. All pieces show hollow handles. All forks are made in 830 grade silver, the knives are made in sterling silver. The cutlery belonged originally together as it has been purchased in this composition by the first owners at Georg Jensen in Copenhagen in the early 1930s and remained in family property until now.
An overview of our other sterling silver cutlery pieces in “Pyramid” pattern can be found here.
Please click here to see our range of silver items by Georg Jensen.

The “Pyramid” cutlery was designed in 1926 by Georg Jensen´s brother in law Harad Nielsen and is still a modern classic among Art Deco silver cutleries. While the cutlery was first produced in 830 grade silver, it gained increasing international popularity as silverware for the haute volee in the beginning 1930ies and was therefore produced exclusively in sterling silver from around 1930. The demand of silverware in “Pyramid” is still unbroken today and the pattern is one of the most sought-after Georg Jensen silver cutleries.
In the first decades, the “Pyramid” silver cutlery had a large number of serving pieces as well as a wider selection of core cutlery, but production of different types was gradually discontinued after the Second World War. This includes this fruit cutlery as well. The “Pyramid” pattern cutlery is still produced by Georg Jensen today in sterling silver to a significantly reduced number in variety and also in stainless steel, although no longer in Denmark.

Fruit forks: 14.4 cm / 5.66″ length; 172.1 g / 5.53 oz
Fruit knives: 15.6 cm / 6.14″; weight: 181.3 g / 5.82 oz

Georg Jensen „Pyramide“ Sterling Silber Essbesteck

Artikelnummer: 58056

Sehr seltenes Obstbesteck für sechs Personen „Pyramide“,
Sterling Silber und 830er Silber, Kopenhagen 1931,
HZ: Georg Jensen

Obstbesteck für sechs Personen „Pyramide“, Entwurf: Harald Nielsen, 1926. Ausführung: Georg Jensen Silberschmiede 1931. Angesichts des Alters sehr guter, feinpolierter Zustand mit nur geringfügigsten Gebrauchsspuren ohne Monogramm oder sonstige Inschriften.
Als Satz für sechs Personen sehr selten zu finden, zudem als Original aus der Frühphase des Entwurfs von zusätzlicher Seltenheit. Die Gabelzinken und Messerklingen in Silber gearbeitet, die Griffe hohl und nicht gefüllt. Die Gabeln sind durchgängig in 830er Silber gearbeitet, die Obstmesser aus Sterling Silber. Das Besteck ist original zusammengehörig und wurde von den Erstbesitzern in dieser Form in den frühen 1930er Jahren bei Georg Jensen in Kopenhagen erworben und blieb bis zuletzt in Familienbesitz.
Eine Übersicht über unser Angebot an Silberbesteck in „Pyramide“ finden Sie hier.
Hier gelangen Sie zu unserer Gesamtübersicht an Silber von Georg Jensen.

Das Besteck „Pyramide“ (im englischsprachigen Bereich auch als „Pyramid“ bekannt) wurde 1926 von Harald Nielsen, dem Schwager von Georg Jensen, entworfen und ist unter den Silber Bestecken des Art Déco ein auch heute noch moderner Klassiker. Wurde das Besteck in den ersten Jahren noch in 830er Silber hergestellt, erlangte es in den frühen 1930er Jahren eine zunehmende internationale Beliebtheit als Tafelsilber für die Hautevolee und wurde daher seit etwa 1930 ausschließlich in Sterling Silber hergestellt. Die Beliebheit von Silberwaren in „Pyramide“ ist auch heute noch ungebrochen und das Dekor eines der am meisten gesuchten Bestecke von Georg Jensen überhaupt.
Das Silberbesteck hatte in den ersten Jahrzehnten eine Vielzahl an Vorlegeteilen sowie eine breitere Auswahl des Kernbestecks deren Herstellung nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg allerdings sukzessive eingestellt wurde. Hierzu gehört auch das hier angebotene Obstbesteck. Das Besteck „Pyramide“ wird von Georg Jensen zwar heute noch in deutlich reduziertem Umfang in Sterling Silber und inzwischen auch in Edelstahl hergestellt, wenngleich auch nicht mehr in Dänemark.

Gabeln: Länge: 14,4 cm; 172,1 g
Messer: Länge: 15,6 cm; 181,3 g